Struggling VS Gunships.

Varindran

I'm a noob a GSF but i'm having a really hard time fighting good gunships. Feels like most matches are decided by whichever team has the better gunship users. I can never get close enough to take one down if they see me coming usually get shot down in a single hit. if i do close the gap they are incredibly durable and they have full fuel to escape and reposition. As well as their team to cover for them.

Kinda depends on the match type, and what ship/components you're using. Though if you're new and don't have fully upgraded (or close to it) ships yet, I'd recommend staying away from fighting gunships for the time being.

Keep in mind they have a firing range of 15km, so try to monitor the positions of enemy gunships if you can and stay out of their range. Bit of an acquired skill, but match/map awareness is a big part of not getting hit by them.

If you are going to take a dig at them, don't approach them head-on unless you absolutely have to, that typically doesn't end well. That's not to say it can't be done, but it generally isn't a good idea, unless there's a sizable discrepancy between you and them in terms of skill/components. Try to come at them from the sides, behind, above or below, which will typically force them to start moving away. Chasing them off can be a victory in itself even if you don't kill them, the time it takes them to run away, regen their engine power, then move back into position is time they aren't spending shooting at your team.