A Story of a Brand New SWTOR Player

Wilsu_Addar

I will give a simple anecdotal experience for SWTOR and this idea that ability pruning is necessary.

My fiance had never played an MMO ever. I played this game at launch and played WoW for over a decade. I'm an MMO veteran. I use an MMO mouse with 12 buttons, and tons of keybinds.

When I introduced her to the game for the first time, she enjoyed the game play and especially the story.

But of special note, she really enjoyed the amount of abilities each class had. Some quotes from this brand new MMO player:

"I feel like I always have an ability to answer a problem in the game."

"Even if I don't always use all my buttons, I really like knowing they're there."

"You really feel the difference between the bounty hunter and secret agent. Not just like, the looks and all. But the way you press the buttons. The options. It's fun knowing you can do so much."

When I told her they were planning on pruning abilities:

"That seems really stupid. Why would people want less things to press?"

When I explain the game might be easier to play:

"Wouldn't that just be boring?"

"What is so hard about pressing a few more buttons?"

"What if people lose their favorite abilities? Won't they be upset? Why would they want players to be upset?"

These are all from a first-time MMO player. She's not a gamer. She's a mild Star Wars fan, and enjoyed the game immensely. Specifically, all the options and abilities.

Might not mean much to you. But she's as casual and new as it gets. Just one opinion amongst many.

Nice read. I understand her way of looking at it. Yes there is some pruning and condensing about to happen but you'll have multiple loadouts. So the ability you are missing on one loadout you can put on another loadout and switch between them. It's not the same as having them all at once but I'm sure we'll all get used to it.

PS: I think you'll get more traction and views in the general discussion section of the forums.