Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

Yep - I'm done

MajorRedux
01.26.2012 , 07:13 AM | #1
Not because of the bugs.
Not because of the constant crashes.
Not because of the well written and enjoyable story.
Not because of the bad graphics (it's 2012 COME ON bioware).
Not because I had to import the game from Singapore to play.
Not because it's funded by EA.
Not because of the terrible talent trees that leave NO room for customization.
Not because of the poorly designed attributes that still aren't working correctly.
Not because it's a themepark and not a sandbox.
Not because of the rail shooter space combat.
Not even because of the poor character customization.

I'm done because of the poorly thought out and implemented classes and abilities, which by design have resulted in a completely broken PvP system.

As a games developer I follow certain rules, especially when it comes to multi-class style RPG games. Mage doesn't get a heal because they wtfpwn with their spells, Priest gets heals that are interruptable and counterable, Warriors get heavy armour but can't stealth, and so on.

We follow these general rules so that one class doesn't have an unfair advantage and that they can fit neatly into their niche.

SWTOR throws all these rules out of the window. I have NO idea what possessed the design team to give a caster class (sorc/sage) a shield, instant heals, hots, sprint, AND the damage to go with it. On paper you can just see this recipe going wrong when it comes to balancing, especially if ALL of the warzones rely on high mobility and survivability.

Then on the other side of the coin, they hamstring classes like the mercenary to nothing more than an immobile turret - which would be okay if they could wtfpwn someone in 2 shots - but they can't. In fact, a longstanding rule in PvP is if you stop moving you are dead. I guess they couldn't have mentioned this in the character creation screen.