Character Voice Over Chapter 9

Searren

I love playing this game because of the immersion involved which included the voice overs of the NPCs and my own character. When I started playing the new content I was all in until Chapter 9. Now, I don't know if I want to move forward because it's lost that immersion feel. That's what drew me into this game in the first place, the NPC and Character dialogue. I thought it was an error or something. My friends refer to it as "weird" like an ewww kind of tone of voice. I didn't know what they meant until I reached it Chapter 9. Now I know and I'm hoping it's fixed quickly.

• 2 weeks later...
I feel the same way. I loved the ideea that even the side quests felt liek main quest and i always liked to listed to what NPC's had to say and the way my char responded was awesome. If they cut voice acting i dont know if i'm going to be playing anymore. I would rather want bioware to release new expansions more rarely and keep the existing ones in top quality like the main game. The immersion will be gone if they keep doing KOTOR like conversations.. feels so cheap. It was okay back in the day but its 2015 now.

I actually think a voiced main character is the opposite of immersive. How does a character represent me when he sounds like some USAian that eats gravel? That's generally speaking though, I'm actually quite happy with most of the voice acting in TOR... even if it is un-immersive.

I suspect there's several reasons for the ALLIANCE (not chapter 9) dialogue being built the way it is. For one it is repetetive. Having the camera flip back and forth between you and the mission giver and hearing the same line 5 or more times in a row when you're turning in supplies would not be an amazing and "immersive" storytelling experience. I doubt there's many people who don't spacebar the dialogue in the dailies on Ilum or Black Hole or wherever after the sixth time.