which companions stick around?

StockThorax

So, this is my first time playing through the story, I'm around chapter 10 in kotfe, and so far I have spent a lot of time and companion gifts leveling THREE companions that did not return. Khem Val, gone. Andronikos Revel, gone. Now HK-55, dead.

Which companions will stick around through the story so I stop wasting resources leveling influence on the ones that don't stick with me?

You can get your original companions back,if you played from level 1 at least. There is a Companion Locator Terminal in the Alliance Headquarters. It's in a small room just to the north of the Smuggler's room. It's the same room as the Commander's Datapad.

Which companions will stick around through the story so I stop wasting resources leveling influence on the ones that don't stick with me?

Most of the companions you get through Alliance Alerts stick around. So do most of the ones who show up during KoFE/ET.

However, besides those you've already mentioned, you will need to choose between Vette and Torian at one point. But if you've levelled one of them up, you can choose to 'save' them.

A simple almost non-spoiler answer - Kalyo sticks around, and is a good healer.

Also, the Companion Locator Terminal mentioned above can be used to summon any companions you've lost during KoFE/ET (I think). So, if you have a particular companion you've levelled, you can get them back.

Edited by JediQuaker

So, this is my first time playing through the story, I'm around chapter 10 in kotfe, and so far I have spent a lot of time and companion gifts leveling THREE companions that did not return. Khem Val, gone. Andronikos Revel, gone. Now HK-55, dead.

Short version (after the events of the latest story content) ... no one is 100% safe.

Long version, if you are looking for a list of companions that have a chance to go away:

• Marr - dies in chapter 2 of KOTFE nothing you can do about it