Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

20 Powertechs and... 200 Mercenaries???

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > Classes
20 Powertechs and... 200 Mercenaries???

starwarsmarsian
02.20.2013 , 05:56 AM | #1
Why are there so much more Mercs than PTs? Now, in my whole SWTOR 'career', I have seen like 20 PTs against 200 mercs. I would get the feeling Mercenary is not just an adv class, but a class, while there is a rare selection of PT's. I'm a Powertech myself, and I love it. They have flame sweep and carbonize, people! I also think the information when choosing an adv. class is too vague.

Mercenary
Two blaster pistols, heavy armor

Powertech
One blaster pistol, heavy armor

Show skill tree => Come on, when I was a newbie, I understood the hell of what a skill tree was.

This makes newbies think Mercs are automatically more powerful than PTs.
Horsan, level 50 Powertech

yoomazir
02.20.2013 , 10:54 AM | #2
Indeed, my main is a merc because when I started this game and I went to pick my advanced class, from what the 2 mofos were saying, merc was hinted as the dual wielding gunho dps, it took me months and endgame pve/pvp to find out I was tricked...

Those 200 mercs you see around in fleet? Most of them had the same tought, most of them will reroll, just like I did.

Stressfire
02.20.2013 , 04:24 PM | #3
I had a basic idea of what I was getting into when I rolled my Merc as my first toon.

I don't really pvp, so no viability worries there

Heck, if we're just being honest.....it was the dual-wield capability. Merc had me at "hello" with the twin blasters

PT just didn't have the cool-factor for me. That, and I didn't want a tank

Having said that, I have a short attention span - I'm currently enamored with Sniper

Skullbash
02.20.2013 , 05:01 PM | #4