A guide to the second puzzle before Izax in Valley of the Machine Gods.

I tried the Machine Gods Op for the 1st time today and I've never felt so lost in this game before doing the puzzle before Izax. Is there a guide for this? The group I was in said my DPS is too low to pull agro from the deflection droids. I'm a newb at heart, so a guide to how much dmg do I need for future runs and how the heck does the puzzle even work would be nice. It's easy to get the solution, but if you don't know how to guide the laser, it becomes confusing as hell. I'd like to avoid runs where people rage quit because of me again, not a good feeling. Edited by Tamiil
More clear title

The mechanics are as follows:

• You must have aggro AND be within 70 meters AND be in line-of-sight to get the beam.
  • The next droid must be standing within 10 meters BEHIND you to receive the beam, and be in line-of-sight of the previous droid.

I've still had many situations where the droids acted weird. E.g. everything was positioned correctly and the beam would still not be passed on. In that case, we'd swap out players or slightly change the positions and eventually it would work.

The most important thing is that you need to have the highest threat of your droid. Usually, attacking for a couple GCDs should be enough. Tank classes can also taunt at the end. Healers should avoid healing (outside of sorc/sage shields) and instead players must survive using defensives. If they are close to dying, obviously they can self-heal or have a healer heal them. But this may result in players having to run back to their droid and doing DPS again.

If you step out of line of sight, the droid will receive a "not visible" icon above it and will usually switch to a different target. However, you most likely have not lost aggro. Once you are in LoS again, you will automatically be targeted again.