Gearing for EC HM

MasterGladius

How do I go about getting geared for EC HM as a Shadow Tank? I have probably an average of Rakata gear, having some Columi, Rakata, and Black Hole gear in roughly equal proportions. I'm good with my spec, so that should be a non-issue. I'm still learning the op, but that'll come with study and practice. I'm just a bit nervous about my gear and want to improve it. I've cleared HM KP and EV already, as well as SM EC and TfB.

Please give me some guidance on how to improve my gear because I have some BH comms, but when I look at the items, even when upgrading from Columi, the actual bonuses seem pretty underwhelming. What stats should I be aiming for?

What stats should I be aiming for?

The very first thing you should do is make sure you're getting the 4 pc set bonus. The set bonuses are friggin' *amazing* for tanks, and any tank without them is crippling themselves in doing so.

The second thing you should do is look at all of your enhancements, ear, and implants. Get rid of anything that had accuracy on it and replace it with stuff that has both shield and absorb on it, even if it's lower tier (all of the Rakata tank gear has acc enhances; replace those with the enhs from the Columi gear since it's got shield/abs). The Rakata ear is terrible, but the implants are decent (BH for both ear and implant are safe and well itemized, so if you've got those, you're golden).

Third, if you haven't already, augment your gear: as a Shadow, you should be using Defense and Absorb augments (you want to keep your Def and Abs ratings roughly equal); you'll get all of the Endurance and Shield rating you need from your gear tangentially so there's no point wasting itemization on it that could be put to use getting more defense or absorb (which are in comparatively shorter supply).