Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer
×

Please re-think taking away some of our decorations in the server merge?

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > General Discussion > Suggestion Box
Please re-think taking away some of our decorations in the server merge?

winterjane's Avatar


winterjane
10.04.2017 , 10:33 AM | #1
Quote:
Decorations are not impacted by the United Forces update. If you have more than one Legacy which are combined as part of the update, you will have access to each decoration equal to the highest decoration among your Legacies. Ex: On the “Skywalker” Legacy you have 4 Basic Metal Chairs, on the Organa Legacy you have 15 Basic Metal Chairs. After the update, you will have a combined Legacy with 15 Basic Metal Chairs. It is possible that you may end up with more decorations placed than you own after the update. If this happens, you cannot place any more of that decoration until you go below your owned value.
So in fact they ARE affected, because using your own example someone who previously owned 19 of an item will now own only 15 - this seems very unfair to me. We pay for those decorations, sometimes on the AH and sometimes with actual real money on the Cartel Market. We craft for some of them too. And you think it's OK to just take some of them away?

I think it would be fairer to add them together, as long as that would not exceed the 'maximum allowed out of 100' that most decs have. Otherwise you seem to be saying to me "Hey, we just took away those expensive 2 [whatevers] you bought on Red Eclipse, because you had 3 of them on Progenitor. If you want to have 5 again, you can just spend those Cartel Coins or credits all over again." Not very friendly, is it?

I do understand that I can 'keep' them all if I put them down and never ever move them again, but that seems pretty harsh also as they are then not available in any really useful way (eg, I couldn't take them out of one stronghold and put them down again in a new one).
"If men had postponed the search for knowledge and beauty until they were secure, the search would never have begun.” - C.S. Lewis

gntlmanslfe's Avatar


gntlmanslfe
10.04.2017 , 11:37 AM | #2
Completely agree that adding is better. I had thought that was what was meant by the "you may have more of an item than you started with", but that's now what they're intending.

Malphicious's Avatar


Malphicious
10.04.2017 , 11:59 AM | #3
Yeah seems stupid considering they all cost money, credits ,w/e. If I bought one stronghold bundle from CM on one server, then bought the same bundle on another. That cost me coins, maybe even money to get those coins. I should have all those combined not just the one bundle after merge. I think their main concern is that some that transferred before have what decos they had on previous legacy when they transferred. So if those legacies merged again, they would actually get double decos where they really only bought half. It's a pickle.

PiiTarr's Avatar


PiiTarr
10.04.2017 , 01:42 PM | #4
I've spent millions of credits across multiple servers to have one GTN kiosk per each of several servers. To have all but one taken away is unacceptable.

xordevoreaux's Avatar


xordevoreaux
10.04.2017 , 02:31 PM | #5
Quote: Originally Posted by winterjane View Post
So in fact they ARE affected, because using your own example someone who previously owned 19 of an item will now own only 15 - this seems very unfair to me. We pay for those decorations, sometimes on the AH and sometimes with actual real money on the Cartel Market. We craft for some of them too. And you think it's OK to just take some of them away?
Your logic is wrong here. Highest number wins, regardless of the number. Don't fixate on 15. 15 in the example is simply "highest number."

Whether you have 4, 15, 19, or 999, highest number wins. Trust me. I've transfered well over 20 toons in this game for the specific purpose of refreshing my legacy on other servers after increasing my main server's legacy with new/interesting/a lot of decorations, and it's always been the case that highest number wins.
Referral Link: http://www.swtor.com/r/F4XbCd
In English, a leading X on a word is pronounced like a Z. (zorDEVoro).

winterjane's Avatar


winterjane
10.04.2017 , 04:56 PM | #6
But we *haven't* chosen to move anything anywhere - it's being forced on us. It isn't a case of 'move if you want, but it will cost you some of your stuff' - it's a case of 'we are moving you and taking some of your stuff'. I'm still confused as to how taking items away can in any way be described as 'not impacted'. I'm not obsessed with the number 15 any more than I am obsessed with Basic Metal Chairs, I promise. I just want to know how it is fair to *force* me to give up items I actually paid for and seriously wonder why there isn't a different way to handle this - it feels kinda like being punished for having spent money, time and efffort on the game - 'thanks for your efforts, here's a kick in the teeth just to rub salt into the wound of forcing a server merge on you'.
"If men had postponed the search for knowledge and beauty until they were secure, the search would never have begun.” - C.S. Lewis

Phenglei's Avatar


Phenglei
10.04.2017 , 05:48 PM | #7
Quote: Originally Posted by xordevoreaux View Post
Your logic is wrong here.
No, the OP's logic is quite correct :

Quote:
From the FAQ :
Ex: On the “Skywalker” Legacy you have 4 Basic Metal Chairs, on the Organa Legacy you have 15 Basic Metal Chairs. After the update, you will have a combined Legacy with 15 Basic Metal Chairs.
Quote: Originally Posted by winterjane View Post
So in fact they ARE affected, because using your own example someone who previously owned 19 of an item will now own only 15
What the OP was saying is that in the developers' example, a player had purchased or acquired a total of 19 Basic Metal Chairs (15 on one server and 4 on the other). After the merge, the player will now only have 15, and the other 4 simply disappear. Poof, gone.

As has been pointed out here, this means that players who acquired very expensive decorations across multiple servers will see some of them simply disappear, with nothing left to show for what was spent on them.

Quote: Originally Posted by xordevoreaux View Post
Highest number wins, regardless of the number. Don't fixate on 15. 15 in the example is simply "highest number." Whether you have 4, 15, 19, or 999, highest number wins. Trust me.
It sounds to me like you thought that the OP believed that the developers were saying that all Decorations quantities would be reduced to 15. No, that wasn't the issue. This is about the lesser quantities of Decorations on merged servers simply vanishing. The developers' FAQ claimed that Decorations would not be impacted by the update, but that simply isn't true.
"What I mean is ... Yes, they are blue berries, but they're not necessarily blueberries. Because while all blueberries are blue berries, not all blue berries are blueberries. You see?"

xordevoreaux's Avatar


xordevoreaux
10.04.2017 , 10:07 PM | #8
Quote: Originally Posted by Phenglei View Post
No, the OP's logic is quite correct :




What the OP was saying is that in the developers' example, a player had purchased or acquired a total of 19 Basic Metal Chairs (15 on one server and 4 on the other). After the merge, the player will now only have 15, and the other 4 simply disappear. Poof, gone.

As has been pointed out here, this means that players who acquired very expensive decorations across multiple servers will see some of them simply disappear, with nothing left to show for what was spent on them.



It sounds to me like you thought that the OP believed that the developers were saying that all Decorations quantities would be reduced to 15. No, that wasn't the issue. This is about the lesser quantities of Decorations on merged servers simply vanishing. The developers' FAQ claimed that Decorations would not be impacted by the update, but that simply isn't true.
Trust me, I've experienced this, and it's quite fine. The merge is not additive. You have 4 metal chairs on server x, you have 15 metal chairs on server y, you'll have 15 metal chairs when they're both merged into server z. That's how it's always been. The rules aren't changing just for the server merge. Highest number wins. Merging legacies has never, ever, been an additive experience, where server x + server y = server z. Never.
Referral Link: http://www.swtor.com/r/F4XbCd
In English, a leading X on a word is pronounced like a Z. (zorDEVoro).

xordevoreaux's Avatar


xordevoreaux
10.04.2017 , 10:12 PM | #9
Think about it this way: I buy a 2100 cartel item off the cartel market and add it to my legacy.
2100 cartel coins that Bioware would want you buy via your hard-earned real money.
So then you transfer that legacy, with the 2100 cartel item, to a new server. It gets that item. Thank you bioware.
Then you transfer that legacy back to the original server.

You'd say that you now have two of those items, because item from server A + item from server B = two items,
but you never actually paid for two items, just one, where one was copied from the other legacy.

Were it additive, where merging = A +B rather than A= A if A > B , then you are, in fact, creating stuff that never existed. The way the OP is thinking, I could systematically copy a toon back and forth between server A and B and build up as as many copies of that 2100 cartel coin item as I could stand to transfer back and forth.

Not permitted. Doesn't work that way.
Referral Link: http://www.swtor.com/r/F4XbCd
In English, a leading X on a word is pronounced like a Z. (zorDEVoro).

Ratajack's Avatar


Ratajack
10.04.2017 , 10:32 PM | #10
Quote: Originally Posted by xordevoreaux View Post
Think about it this way: I buy a 2100 cartel item off the cartel market and add it to my legacy.
2100 cartel coins that Bioware would want you buy via your hard-earned real money.
So then you transfer that legacy, with the 2100 cartel item, to a new server. It gets that item. Thank you bioware.
Then you transfer that legacy back to the original server.

You'd say that you now have two of those items, because item from server A + item from server B = two items,
but you never actually paid for two items, just one, where one was copied from the other legacy.

Were it additive, where merging = A +B rather than A= A if A > B , then you are, in fact, creating stuff that never existed. The way the OP is thinking, I could systematically copy a toon back and forth between server A and B and build up as as many copies of that 2100 cartel coin item as I could stand to transfer back and forth.

Not permitted. Doesn't work that way.
Maybe I misunderstood the OP, but I do not think the OP is not asking for "copies" to be "additive", only those decorations that were acquired legitimately, whether those decorations were purchased or earned via achievement, drops or some other means.

Example:

Johnny purchased 5 GTN kiosks. He divides those kiosks among his legacies on 5 different servers, giving one kiosk to each legacy.

Each legacy only shows one kiosk available, but Johnny purchased 5 kiosks. Why should Johnny "lose" 4 kiosks that he purchased when the servers merge?