Despon's Guide to GSF for Total Beginners

caederon

So, you’ve decided to play Galactic Starfighter! Good choice. Before you get frustrated into a frenzy, ragequit from a match, and troll this forum, read this guide. Perhaps it will give you some insight, some clarity, and allow you a measure of respite from the seething demons within.

Even if you don’t consider yourself a total beginner, you might gain some perspective from these collected thoughts, so at least skim the headings.

Play the tutorial... then do it again!

It's not a great tutorial. The presentation is choppy and annoying. We know, we have tried to get them to make a better one. But for now, it's what there is. So play it through and pay attention to what it's teaching you. Then do it again, but the second time, don't go capture A right away. Fly around the map. Practice boosting. Try out your Engine Ability (mapped to 3 by default). Try using only missiles when killing the drones. Target one, hold down your right mouse button, and release when you get a lock. Repeat. You are invulnerable to damage during the tutorial, so you can practice flying around the various obstacles until you're comfortable with the way the controls handle. Then seek out an actual match.

Do Not Act Alone

The number one mistake new pilots make is acting alone.

Perhaps you think GSF is like a singleplayer game where you are able to take on the enemy fleet all by yourself because you are the hero. In GSF, you are not the hero. You are part of a team of pilots who have one of two goals: Be the first team to amass 50 kills (in TDM) or be the first team to earn 1000 points (in Domination).

Imagine that instead of being a wandering mosquito, alone and easily swatted dead, that you are a killer-bee… part of a deadly swarm. Even when individual bees are killed, it is very hard to deal with a whole swarm all at once.