Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

how hard is tanking? (coming from warcraft)

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > Classes
how hard is tanking? (coming from warcraft)

duffy
07.07.2014 , 02:46 PM | #1
Hello,

I am new to the game but I played wow from vanilla to lich king. I did not raid tank but did heroics (prot warrior).

I burned out from wow partly because of dps in pugs and I just did not like dealing with them. The people here seem nicer so I was debating on giving it a try but a quick question.

I am leaning towards the jedi guardian tank spec. How difficult are the rotations? I dont want ez mode but at this point i dont want to do a lot of work for a game (that is why I was leaning dps).

Joel_Eisenlipz
07.07.2014 , 03:51 PM | #2
All of the tanks can be used to clear the hardest content available. And all of the advanced classes that have tank specs also have DPS specs, but the gear and rotations between specs are very different.

In my opinion, Vanguard/Powertech tanks have better natural mitigation, but limited defensive cooldowns; Guardians/Juggernauts have the best suite of cooldowns, but naturally favor avoidance (Defense) rather than mitigation; and Shadows/Assassins land somewhere in the middle, but have a fairly high skill cap compared to the others.

I would strongly recommend that you level a DPS toon first (and without XP boosts), simply to learn the game systems. Then, roll a new character and level them as a tank from day one. This will take longer than just leveling one toon as DPS and respec at the end, but it lends itself much better to the learning process.

Many find that the leveling experience and story-telling in this game warrant several alts. I certainly do, and every new toon improves my overall understanding and appreciation of the game.