Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

Extreme Latency on Windows 8

Master_Wa
01.24.2013 , 06:08 PM | #1
My Current Computer Specs:
Windows 8 Professional: 64-Bit (Upgraded from Vista 32-Bit to use all of my ram)
NVIDIA GTX 560 OC
Intel i5 2500
8GB Ram
Asus Black Diamond USB-N53 internet adapter

I have been playing SWTOR since March 2012 on "Dalborra" with no problems until I upgraded to Windows 8 at the end of november last month.

The game runs smoothly on "Very High" graphics settings with no (graphics) lag however my connection latency thing is constantly sitting on 1 red bar in game. This causes all of my actions to be delayed making it very difficult during any fights as it takes time for the servers to register my actions. While the server delays me, mobs continue to attack me causing me to die before i can even attack them a few times.

I've made sure that my drivers are up to date, tried the game on "Very Low" graphics settings and updated all my C++ stuff (like CS said) but nothing has managed to fix it.

I'm wondering if anyone has had the same problem or if there is any fix for it.
Any help would be appreciated
It is Useless to Resist

OwenBrooks
01.24.2013 , 06:18 PM | #2
http://www.swtor.com/community/showt...=555798&page=6

Windows 8 issues have been discussed here not sure on a fix for red bar

Best suggestion off hand is to ensure exceptions exist in the firewall for swtor.exe and launcher.exe and that they have public network access , do you have a firewall on router ?

Some have no issues running swtor on win 8, yet some do , love new OS releases.

Master_Wa
01.24.2013 , 06:57 PM | #3
Thanks for your reply.
I have made sure all SWTOR exe's are unblocked in my firewalls - also, its not my router as other computers in the house can run it fine (on windows 7)
I'll check out that other forum.

Still, if anyone else has anything to say, let me know
It is Useless to Resist

TheNightcrawler