Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

Orange items always best?

jivares
12.13.2012 , 12:27 PM | #1
I'm fairly new to the game and enjoy playing it so far. I have collected several pieces of orange armor and weapons across my different characters. Often, I have other non-orange items which have higher base damage or a better armor rating and very similar on the ability bonuses. I understand the the orange items can be upgraded with better and better mods, hilts, barrels, etc, but does this offset the difference in armor rating or base damage? Do those base numbers increase when the mods are applied?

I have kept the orange pieces, but I am currently using other items in their place. Am I doing it incorrectly?

Thanks in advance.

Varinm
12.13.2012 , 12:31 PM | #2
For armor, the Armoring slot increases the base level & armor rating of the piece. So far as I understand, Mods and Enhancements are just stat boosters.

For weapons, the Hilt (melee) or Barrel (ranged) increase the base level, min/max damage, and Force or Tech power rating. In the same way (as I understand), Mods and Enhancements are just stat boosters.

LukeSaberRattler
12.13.2012 , 12:38 PM | #3
Orange armor is best as you can constantly change out the mods as you level and generally get higher stats at the same level as other blue/green items. However, it can get pricey to mod orange pieces especially if you have they in every slot compared to just buying a cheap blue off the gtn.
The Harbinger
Snozzberry lvl 65 Gunslinger -- Friendlyminion lvl 60 Marauder -- UnfriendlyNPC lvl 60 Shadow -- Beskha lvl 60 Mercenary
Referral: http://www.swtor.com/r/Rm3kpG

Jason_T
12.13.2012 , 01:19 PM | #4