Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

Windows 8 problems

First BioWare Post First BioWare Post

Mcurt
11.11.2012 , 01:45 PM | #1
Okay so here is my story

So i upgraded to windows 8 pro just yesterday downloaded a fresh copy of the game after getting my system ready... So game finished downloading i started playing afterwards. I played a couple of hours then the game crashed while i was switching characters. At first i couldn't fix the problem no matter how many repairs i ran. So i just downloaded the game again. It worked again for a couple of hours, then the same thing happened. It crashes. And no matter how many times you try to run the game again it will just crash at the start. So i made a call to costumer support, they told me it was a resolution problem. Here is the exact e-mail i got from them with instructions, after the phone call.

Greetings Balazs,

Thank you for contacting us about your graphical issue.

Firstly we need to ensure that the files are not hidden so can you please follow the below to do so.

Control panel > Folder options > View > Select show hidden files > Apply

Once this has been completed, please follow the below steps so we can manually set the resolution for the game. Ensure the resolution is set to the same settings on the PC.

•Computer
•Click on the C drive
•Select Users
•Click on your user ID
•App data
•Local
•Select SWTOR
•Settings
•Click client settings or Client settings.ini
NativeHeight =

Native Width =

D3D Full screen = False

You will need to ensure that the refresh rate is also set to 60 Hertz this can be found under the advanced settings in display. If the refresh rate is not showing in client settings you can simple paste the below in under the Native Width

Refresh rate = 60

Select File at the top left and save the changes.

Please also ensure that your Drivers are all up to date especially your graphics drivers.