Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

SOLVED - SWTOR Freezing when trying to log in to a character or instance

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > Customer Service
SOLVED - SWTOR Freezing when trying to log in to a character or instance

Aurorus
06.26.2012 , 01:14 PM | #1
Hey everyone

Just wanted to let the community know that I have had a lot of trouble with SWTOR on my Dell Latitude E6420 laptop. The machine itself is more than capable at running SWTOR, including PvP and raiding.

The issue I was experiencing was that sometimes/often loading between instances would make the game freeze on the loading screen without a loading bar. This would essentially put the game out of commission until a restart of the game.

Being a software engineer, I had to peek under the hood. The reason I found for this was because when you play SWTOR and load between instances, in the background SWTOR is actually composed of two processes, swtor.exe and swtor.exe who communicate to each other.

What was happening was that swtor.exe(1) was waiting for swtor.exe(2) to finish loading so that it could use a file called DiskCacheArena as a buffer file. However, swtor.exe(2) was waiting for swtor.exe(1) to let go of the DiskCacheArena file now because for the loading screen and loading process it had to put something into DiskCacheArena. For the technical amongst you, this is a multi-process deadlock.

On Windows 7, a really, really simple way to fix this kind of issue was to do the following:
  1. Game has frozen while zoning to instances
  2. Open the Windows Menu (bottom left hand corner)
  3. Type in 'cmd' without quotes into the text box at the bottom
  4. Right click the cmd.exe process and left click 'Run as Administrator'.
  5. At this point, you'll get a greyed out screen with a Yes or No option. When you get the option to allow cmd.exe to Run as Administrator just say No and go back to SWTOR.