Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

Forced to play on low graphics

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > Customer Service
Forced to play on low graphics

DarthChavez
04.24.2012 , 02:56 PM | #1
I am new to pc gaming, as this is my first, and my laptop wont allow me to play the game without massive amounts of lag on anything but the very low graphic setting. I would like to enjoy the better graphics but do not know how to fix the problem. I have Dell Inspiron n5010 and i have updated my drivers already any help or advice would be much appreciated.
Ain't Nothin But A "G" Thang

Sleeplessfox
04.24.2012 , 03:29 PM | #2
laptops are problematic for gaming due to heat alone but this laptop you are using is not powerful enough for gaming, is more a work laptop or student laptop. A gaming laptop can get very expensive due to the need for high end cooling and graphics hardware made small enough to fit in a small frame. Dells are business laptops, Dell's gaming laptop line is called "alienware" which would offer more performance, Mobile cpus and gpus installed in business laptops are not really made for high end gaming like MMORPGs with large 3d environments and lots of models moving on screen, I did a bit of research on the model you are using and many find it hard to play offline 3d single player games, so going onto a busy online open world environment will be putting a lot of stress on that machine.

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...9064802AAf9Vm1
above is an example of a user wondering if games are playable on your laptop model
http://www.pcworld.idg.com.au/review...r_n5010/349068
this review from pcworld states that it doesnt perform well in gaming
" it's more than enough graphics performance for HD video processing and it will even be able to run some older games." (meaning it can play HD video but games not really only old stuff)
http://www.makeuseof.com/answers/laptop-overheating/