Some Thoughts From A Casual Gamer

arcadinal

So...I'm a bit sad with the recent change, and I'd like to try and offer some thoughts as to why without things degenerating into an inevitable flame fest.

Let me say upfront I'm not a big PvPer. In fact, this is the first MMO I've done a fair amount of PvP in, because it seemed very accessible. I'm a grad student with a very busy schedule, so I don't typically have endless hours to spend perfecting my twitch-gaming skills, and I'm not that good at it. But that was ok...I'd log in when I didn't have time to do long strings of story missions and do a few warzones. Most of the time the Sith would mop the floor with the Republic side (I play Republic), but that was ok because I still got some advancement in commendations and credits each time.

I realize there is a pretty big gear gap between my lvl 50 guy and most of the big PvPers. I also realize it takes a lot of time to ascend that ladder, but I didn't mind the slow ascent, because even when we lost I was still gradually improving my load-outs. Now...that seems not to be the case anymore. Now when my side gets mopped, we don't get much of anything, commendations or credits, so that sense of slow steady progression is lost.

I was generally able to be pretty zen about loosing PvP matches before. A lot of folks were way ahead of me, but I knew I'd get there eventually. Now that doesn't seem to be the case, as it is possible to go through an extended sequences of matches and have nothing to show for it. I suppose you can take the attitude that only the winners should get rewarded, but I think that inevitably locks out people like myself who aren't hard-core PvPers and I think that's a shame. I signed up to be on a PvE server because mostly I wanted to play out the story, but it was nice to be able to segway into the PvP side of things once in a while. It doesn't seem like an option anymore, and I'll miss it.