This was my first MMO. What have I learnt?

Davege_Debou

Ok, so this was the first MMO I have actually played. Previously I was a console FPS player, specifically Halo, CoD and Gears of War. So what have I learnt from my experience?

1) MMO's require a lot of time. Due to being a student I didn't have as much playtime in game as some others who might have more time on their hands. However, last year I was able to reach 15th Prestige on Black Ops. In SWTOR, I only just reached level 32. Maybe I just suck at this game, but oh well.

2) This game requires skill. My alt was a Jedi Sentinel and it was incredibly difficult to master, whereas something such as Halo Reach its very easy to top every single lobby I play in on the MLG playlist.

3) The competitive scene for MMOs appears to be much smaller than something such as CoD and Halo, which were both on the MLG Pro Circuit last year. I know World of Warcraft was a competitive game, and apparently Guild Wars is competitive too. But if that's the case then they would be on sites such as Gamebattles, ClanBase, 360icons etc.

To conclude, my first MMO experience has been very enlightening. I've learnt a lot about the way that MMOs work. They take more skill, are more complex and require more time. However, I do prefer the FPS games such as Halo because they take a different kind of skill and have a better competitive scene. I'm still in doubt as to whether I'll renew my subscription but either way the game has been really fun and I've absolutely enjoyed myself.

Good job Bioware. Fantastic game overall, its taught me a lot.

Refreshing post - 99.9% of 'em here seem to be from hardcore, 10-year vets, heh.

Anyway there are some cool hybrid games you might like. I don't want to take the discussion away from SWTOR, but if you like the idea of persistent worlds while still having the FPS gameplay, Planetside 2 will have both.

I would suggest to stay atleast to finish your story, if you haven't reached level 50 :).