Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

Leveling Powertech

Brickdoctor
04.02.2012 , 12:32 PM | #1
Hi all,

I am new to the game and am currently leveling a PT for tanking later on. I got to level 32 through PvP and class quests, but want to level the rest of the way through normal questing. I figured the best way to do that would be a DPS build. Maybe, maybe not?

What's the preferred spec tree I should be working towards and the rotation for it?

Please keep in mind that I am new. I tried to read several threads about specs and rotations, but I couldn't follow.

Thanks in advance for your help.

holydush
04.02.2012 , 08:07 PM | #2
Im not sure my self what the "optimum" leveling spec would be for a powertech as mine is only level 22. But i am leveling with shield spec and i am enjoying it quite a bit.
I really think it doesnt really matter what spec you level in with this game as you will still do decent damage unlike say... a you spec in protection with a warrior, or restoration with a druid. They all have their ups and downs for every spec in SWTOR... but again i could be compeltely wrong.

hope this helps you a little bit

Hizoka
04.02.2012 , 09:07 PM | #3
play what you want to play. Contrary to the baddies that infect these forums every spec works and works well if you play it right.

Brickdoctor
04.03.2012 , 12:39 PM | #4
Thanks for the advice. I went down mostly the protection tree and had some fun with it last night.

However, what about a rotation? I always open with death from above, grapple, or jet charge, depending on the situation.

But when I am fighting an elite, what should I be using or staying away from? I hit Rail Shot and Rocket Punch every time the cooldown is up. I use the normal attack to control my heat. But what about in between? What about Unload, Flame Burst, Flame Thrower, Explosive Dart, and Missile Blast?