Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer
×

Official Outage Timing Wrong

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > General Discussion
Official Outage Timing Wrong
First BioWare Post First BioWare Post

Lakhesis's Avatar


Lakhesis
04.02.2012 , 12:27 AM | #1
2AM Central is now 5pm AEST.

AEDT (australian eastern daylight time) goes to AEST (australian eastern standard time) between april & october.

When y'all had the swap in american daylight savings a couple of weeks ago, it went to 6pm.
When we had daylight savings end (if you're in a state that has it anyway), it went to 5pm AEST.

I figure being out by 2 hours is significant enough that community support might want to correct it for future weeks.

This means it ends at 10pm AEST btw.
0.00008 light speed? But that's only a lousy 86,000 kph!

Moromillas's Avatar


Moromillas
04.02.2012 , 12:35 AM | #2
I just wish there was a standard that everyone everywhere used. But no, there's GMT's, UTM's, STD's, etc.

Lakhesis's Avatar


Lakhesis
04.02.2012 , 12:38 AM | #3
Quote: Originally Posted by Moromillas View Post
I just wish there was a standard that everyone everywhere used. But no, there's GMT's, UTM's, STD's, etc.
Yeah, it can be a serious headache if you travel or interact with folk from other timezones.

I raid in another game with an american timezone group & so long ago I gave up on the +/- GMT calculations and now I just keep track of when 8pm central is and adjust from there =)
0.00008 light speed? But that's only a lousy 86,000 kph!

amnie's Avatar


amnie
04.02.2012 , 01:41 AM | #4
Quote: Originally Posted by Lakhesis View Post
Yeah, it can be a serious headache if you travel or interact with folk from other timezones.

I raid in another game with an american timezone group & so long ago I gave up on the +/- GMT calculations and now I just keep track of when 8pm central is and adjust from there =)
heh. thankfully my guild has a few international players so they usually state the GMT aswell lately. you have to teach your folks! ;D

JovethGonzalez's Avatar


JovethGonzalez
04.02.2012 , 09:03 AM | #5 This is the last staff post in this thread.  
Hey thank you for letting us know! This has now been corrected. Apologies for the confusion, but with all of the recent time adjustments, there was a risk in making a mistake >.<

Thanks again, and enjoy your day!

dmtvaroha's Avatar


dmtvaroha
04.02.2012 , 09:36 AM | #6
anybody remember Swatch Internet Time (BMT)?

http://www.swatch.com/zz_en/internettime.html

I think it might have taken off if they hadn't centered it on Biel, Switzerland.
The Davny Legacy:
Devaultian Flick Datum

The Shadowlands Vinticuffs

amnie's Avatar


amnie
04.02.2012 , 11:19 AM | #7
am I the only one amazed seeing a mod using the '>.<' emoticon?

(random comment is random)

reaperkeepet's Avatar


reaperkeepet
04.02.2012 , 12:20 PM | #8
Quote: Originally Posted by JovethGonzalez View Post
Hey thank you for letting us know! This has now been corrected. Apologies for the confusion, but with all of the recent time adjustments, there was a risk in making a mistake >.<

Thanks again, and enjoy your day!
I love Gonzalez! He even made a >.< smilie to us!
Quote: Originally Posted by Darth Baras
The cake is a lie, there is only pie, through pie I gain calories, through calories I gain fat, through fat my belt is broken, the recliner shal free me...

reaperkeepet's Avatar


reaperkeepet
04.02.2012 , 12:20 PM | #9
Quote: Originally Posted by amnie View Post
am I the only one amazed seeing a mod using the '>.<' emoticon?

(random comment is random)
Haha, I thought so too.
Quote: Originally Posted by Darth Baras
The cake is a lie, there is only pie, through pie I gain calories, through calories I gain fat, through fat my belt is broken, the recliner shal free me...

TheTitan_KoS's Avatar


TheTitan_KoS
04.02.2012 , 02:15 PM | #10
Quote: Originally Posted by Moromillas View Post
I just wish there was a standard that everyone everywhere used. But no, there's GMT's, UTM's, STD's, etc.
Actually GMT is fixed it never changes the UK switch to BST ( brittish summer time) wich is gmt +1.

Its a common mistake to assume UK/England are always fixed to the GMT and the time in london is equal to the GMT

For most ppl using GMT should be good enough (if they know it doesnt change) as they can add the local change


while we are on the topic you guys should fix the dates also:

for example the pvp test event on the PTS was announced as :

Quote:
On 3/31 from 1PM CDT (11AM PDT/ 2PM EDT/ 7PM GMT/ 8PM CEST/ 12AM AEDT) until 3PM CDT (1PM PDT/ 4PM EDT/ 9PM GMT/ 10PM CEST/ 2AM AEDT),
obviously the zone where it ends at 2 am is not on the same day can get quite confusing if u look at the date from the title and the time in the brackets you are interested in.