Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

Bioware: Crafting Materials Should Not Be BoP

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > Crew Skills
Bioware: Crafting Materials Should Not Be BoP

Plicitous
01.23.2012 , 11:43 AM | #1
After maxing out my Artifice skill I was excited about the opportunity to craft some really nice looking endgame gear. Unfortunately, I soon realized that the primary crafting material needed to make those items -- Biometric Crystal Alloy -- was inexplicably Bind On Pickup.

I'm new to MMORPGs so maybe this is standard operating procedure for such items, but if so, I'm having a difficult time understanding why. Isn't it enough that the item in question only drops from Hardmode FP bosses? Removing such a valuable commodity from the marketplace is an unnecessary restraint on in-game commerce Resource scarcity is already an issue for any crafter interested in producing reverse engineered endgame items.

Making a key material BoP hurts everyone by taking what would otherwise be a very lucrative resource out of circulation. It hurts the crafter. It hurts those that would like to profit from looting the resource.

Why?

Diopter
01.23.2012 , 11:45 AM | #2
I agree 100%.

FalmeseReb
01.23.2012 , 11:46 AM | #3
I think it'd be great if biometrics weren't BoP, would give a reason to run HMs after you get all your gear.

Balth_azare
01.23.2012 , 12:27 PM | #4
Sadly, almost all the stuff an Artificer can craft with the Biometrics is BoP...

And I had the mainhand lightsaber drop in Battle for Ilum FP the other day; so it was a waste of credits to buy the schematic...

But honestly, why should we be able to *easily* obtain these materials? Credits are not hard to come by, and people underprice pretty much everything short of Magenta crystals, so there is not a really go basis for how much they should cost anyways.