Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer
×

Horrid FPS

First BioWare Post First BioWare Post

douglastroop's Avatar


douglastroop
12.14.2011 , 07:12 PM | #1
Alright I dont know if this is the right place to put this but for some reason whenever I am near a building or go in a cave my FPS plummets. Everywhere else its good and about 90 but when I go in a cave or inside a building it drops to about 2. Any advice would be muchly appreciated. I even tried running it on its lowest possible settings and it still does it. I am at my wits end with this. Please help
For every man there is a cause for which he will gladly die for,
Defend the right to have a place to which he can belong to,
And every man will fight with his bare hands in desperation,
And shed his blood to stem the tide to barricade invasion.

Zoggel's Avatar


Zoggel
01.11.2012 , 01:46 AM | #2
Greetings folks!

Because the previous thread has exceeded our normal threshold for thread length, we've started this new thread for the community to discuss this topic.

The previous editions of this thread have had several posts from our friendly Customer Service protocol droids as well as Associate Online Community Manager Joveth Gonzalez. We are going to copy their posts below so that they are more accessible to you. Please continue reading in order to learn what they have had to say on this subject.

Quote: Originally Posted by N2-H0 View Post
Hello,

We’re sorry to hear you’re experiencing this problem.
Thank you for having reported this issue.
If you have not yet tried the following troubleshooting steps, please do so and let us know if your issue is resolved!
  • Close any and all applications running in the background.
  • Turn down the in-game graphic settings.
  • Change the settings to favour performance over quality if you are using a third party graphic management software.
  • Turning off “bloom" in the graphic options in game.
  • Turning shadows off and shaders low.
  • Update your drivers.
If you do not notice a change after having tried the options listed,
can you please reply to these question here in this topic please :
  • Graphic card used :
  • Driver version:
  • Use of a CrossFire system: Yes/No
  • Drop of FPS in the confined spaces (buildings/ships): Yes/No
  • Server name:
Thank you.
Quote: Originally Posted by N2-H0 View Post
Hello everyone,

Thank you for your patience.
Our team is still working on this issue.
Thank you for having provided the information requested, it helps us diagnose the situation.

Quote: Originally Posted by P5-R4 View Post
Greetings all,

I would ask you to take a look at this post made by N2-H0 (again) and in case the troubleshooting steps don't resolve the issue, reply in this thread with the information requested (if you haven't done that already).

I do understand that you want to play the game without fps-issues and I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for your patience!
Quote: Originally Posted by N5-L1 View Post
Greetings All,

Thank you for all of the valuable information that you have provided.

We are currently investigating this issue and we hope to get this resolved as quickly as possible.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and we appreciate your patience with this issue.
Quote: Originally Posted by JovethGonzalez View Post
Hey folks, as N5-L1 mentioned, we are currently investigating this issue based off of the information that you have provided. Because this issue can be attributed to various factors, our team is currently investigating all possibilities. Thank you for your patience.
Quote: Originally Posted by JovethGonzalez View Post
Hey everyone, we have an update on this issue for you. Our development team and our production team have been investigating this issue and we want to thank everyone who has posted constructively on this thread. You’ve provided the development team with a basis for investigation into the low FPS issues, and with your help they have identified and are in the process of resolving the indoor framerate drop.

Please note: this applies to people experiencing a severe framerate drop only when inside buildings, or alleviated symptoms when turning off shadows. Please keep in mind that there are always numerous factors at play when you experience an issue; the more specific you can be with your report, the better you are equipping us to investigate and fix it.

If you are experiencing a framerate issue that does not fall under that very specific category, please respond to this thread with the following information:
  • A clear and concise description of your issue.
  • Your DXDiag (please use spoiler tags).
Have you followed these specific steps (see my note about “Low” settings):
  • Change settings to high, click apply. You should see a loading screen as settings are applied.
  • Change settings to low, click apply. You should see another loading screen.
  • Observe whether there is any change in performance.

Some of you have already pointed this out, but there is a separate issue at play here that might be adding another layer of confusion. Your settings will always display as “Low” on first run of the game – but they might actually be on Medium or High!

Thank you for your patience, and know that we are keeping a very close eye on the forums.
Quote: Originally Posted by JovethGonzalez View Post
Thank you, that is a very good assessment. Everything is sorted by priority and complexity. Because this FPS issue is so varied, and any number of factors could affect it, it's taking a bit more time to investigate. At the moment, our developers are going over logs and are working on a more detailed blog post that we should be posting soon. Thanks again for your patience!
Thank you for your patience and cooperation! Again, please note that the previous version of this thread can be found here. It has not been removed, and continues to undergo review.

Ankhkharu's Avatar


Ankhkharu
01.11.2012 , 01:53 AM | #3
200 people at the fleet, 10 fps

but no it must be my pc which is above recommended req
VENERATIO

Dark_lupus's Avatar


Dark_lupus
01.11.2012 , 01:53 AM | #4
Repost because of reset

Canceled sub due to Bioware/EA spending 133M dollars and using a FREE GRAPHICS ENGINE OPEN TO EVERYBODY.....

Upgraded the system AGAIN today (3 computers all diffirent)

i7 3960X@ 4.7GHZ
16GB of RAM
2x 7970's OC @ 1.2GHZ core
256GB SSD
and.....
17-40 fps in WZ
20-30 in fleet
100+ in world (sometimes I see the fps dip back and forth between 100+ to 30)
AA off
Shadows off

GPU use? changing 100% to 50% to 30% throuought 30mins of play it changes way too damn much!


But i guess i need to upgrade my LOW end system...btw my other one?

1100T@ 4.0GHZ
8gb ram
560gtx ti
1TB HDD

15-40 in WZ drops to 15 when alot of people on the screen get into it.
20-35 in fleet
100+ in world (sometimes I see the fps dip back and forth between 100+ to 30...again)
AA off
Shadows off

I don't consider either system that LOW end...the more i see Bioware PR talk the more it makes me want to never come back.

stargie's Avatar


stargie
01.11.2012 , 02:14 AM | #5
My spec:
Dell Studio 1749
Intel Core i5 430M
ATI Radeon 5650
4 GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Native resolution: 1680x900

Surely this is verry low-end rig, right Bioware ?
I tried every possible fix and nothing worked for me.
I'am getting like 2-30 fps in fleet (fps is spiking). In open area or in-doors i am getting like 10-40 fps. Everytime i start fight i can see big fps drop.
Warzones 4-10 fps.
At around 3am i was in fleet in the trainers area. Noone was there and i got like 50fps.
I tried and turned off my UI and magic happened. My fps spiked up to 100 fps.
I took old 17-inch CRT monitor and i started playing on 800x600 resolution.
I was thinkin that lower resolution = better frame rate. WRONG. I entered warzones. Huttball 10-20 fps. Alderaan 10-15 fps. Voidstar 4 fps constantly.
After warzones i jumped to Ilum and was watching my fps. It was spiking constantly between 30-50. But there was noone there. After a while other player show up and my fps dropped to 5-10 fps.
Conclusion 1. Warzones uplayable, flashpoints barely playable, operations unplayable, questing medicore playable.
Conclusion 2. Subscription cancelld.
Conclusion 3. Fix you broken engine and do not blame players with med/high rigs for your poor, not optimized, buged game.

NewbieLam's Avatar


NewbieLam
01.11.2012 , 02:22 AM | #6
Quote: Originally Posted by Dark_lupus View Post
Repost because of reset

Canceled sub due to Bioware/EA spending 133M dollars and using a FREE GRAPHICS ENGINE OPEN TO EVERYBODY.....

Upgraded the system AGAIN today (3 computers all diffirent)

i7 3960X@ 4.7GHZ
16GB of RAM
2x 7970's OC @ 1.2GHZ core
256GB SSD
and.....
17-40 fps in WZ
20-30 in fleet
100+ in world (sometimes I see the fps dip back and forth between 100+ to 30)
AA off
Shadows off

GPU use? changing 100% to 50% to 30% throuought 30mins of play it changes way too damn much!


But i guess i need to upgrade my LOW end system...btw my other one?

1100T@ 4.0GHZ
8gb ram
560gtx ti
1TB HDD

15-40 in WZ drops to 15 when alot of people on the screen get into it.
20-35 in fleet
100+ in world (sometimes I see the fps dip back and forth between 100+ to 30...again)
AA off
Shadows off

I don't consider either system that LOW end...the more i see Bioware PR talk the more it makes me want to never come back.
Post the full dxdiag for the first system. Just to make sure you are not BSing
I want to die peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather... Not kicking and screaming like the passengers in his car.

Raora's Avatar


Raora
01.11.2012 , 02:23 AM | #7
Quote: Originally Posted by Ankhkharu View Post
200 people at the fleet, 10 fps

but no it must be my pc which is above recommended req
I get no lag at all in the fleet

i5 at 3.8 ghz
12gigs ram
GTX 560Ti

Nariva's Avatar


Nariva
01.11.2012 , 02:24 AM | #8
Quote: Originally Posted by Ankhkharu View Post
200 people at the fleet, 10 fps

but no it must be my pc which is above recommended req
I'm someone with the fps issue, so don't understand this as flame. Those are "min" specs, not "recommended". On some game boxes you can see both, min and recommended. Min just means you can start the game, not you will play it well.

I dare say 200 people are a lot for low to mid range machines, what I don't understand is low fps in warzones with 16 people only after the gates opened.

NewbieLam's Avatar


NewbieLam
01.11.2012 , 02:29 AM | #9
Quote: Originally Posted by stargie View Post
My spec:
Dell Studio 1749
Intel Core i5 430M
ATI Radeon 5650
4 GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Native resolution: 1680x900

Surely this is verry low-end rig, right Bioware ?
I tried every possible fix and nothing worked for me.
I'am getting like 2-30 fps in fleet (fps is spiking). In open area or in-doors i am getting like 10-40 fps. Everytime i start fight i can see big fps drop.
Warzones 4-10 fps.
At around 3am i was in fleet in the trainers area. Noone was there and i got like 50fps.
I tried and turned off my UI and magic happened. My fps spiked up to 100 fps.
I took old 17-inch CRT monitor and i started playing on 800x600 resolution.
I was thinkin that lower resolution = better frame rate. WRONG. I entered warzones. Huttball 10-20 fps. Alderaan 10-15 fps. Voidstar 4 fps constantly.
After warzones i jumped to Ilum and was watching my fps. It was spiking constantly between 30-50. But there was noone there. After a while other player show up and my fps dropped to 5-10 fps.
Conclusion 1. Warzones uplayable, flashpoints barely playable, operations unplayable, questing medicore playable.
Conclusion 2. Subscription cancelld.
Conclusion 3. Fix you broken engine and do not blame players with med/high rigs for your poor, not optimized, buged game.
Prob cause by your CPU, this game ATM is very CPU intensive and that CPU will bottleneck.
I want to die peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather... Not kicking and screaming like the passengers in his car.

NewbieLam's Avatar


NewbieLam
01.11.2012 , 02:31 AM | #10
Am still waiting on that guy that said he has 2x 7970 2 days after release... to post his dxdiag. If it true pretty sweet system....

But imma go with the side of cauntion and bet it a total troll.
I want to die peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather... Not kicking and screaming like the passengers in his car.