Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

The death of the casual crafter

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > Crew Skills
The death of the casual crafter

Cats-Eye
12.15.2019 , 07:05 AM | #1
TL;DR: I really don't like the 6.0 crew skill changes

<Rant Mode>
The one thing that I really wonder about on the crew skill changes in Onslaught is: Who at Bioware thought that this would be fun?
You know. As in this is a game and I play to have some fun. Before anyone accuses me that I just want things to be easy, I am a WOW veteran and have played for years in a raiding guild. So I know what it takes to keep your gear up to date and that it always includes a certai amount of grinding. I've stopped this and became a casual player because the time drain became too much, and I more and more considered keeping up to be a chore instead of being fun, as it was in the beginning.
I lso accept that with my style of play I cannot get the best gear. Fair enough. But the crafting so far was a nice complement. Up until now you could get decent enough stuff from crafting as soon as you hit the appropriate level. So when I started crafting Onslaught stuff, I was quite surprised. Greens? Slicing compenents for basically everything? And tons of them, too. Ah well, I thought, crafted along and when I hit 75, i proudly put onthat new gear. Only having the first loot drop actually be of highler level than my new shiny crafted gear.
***?
It was the first time I actually looked into the changes to crew skills in onslaught, and the realization was truly disappointing. Bioware had turned crew skills into a grindfest of korean proportions. (Just for reference: korean > epic)
I also saw the anoouncement that there would be changes in 6.02, so I waited patiently. The changes make things a bit better in the same way that a cat 4 hurricane is better to have than a cat 5 one. It is still a grindfest or ... well, you know.