Crew Skills help for a NOOB

Buddha_F_Baby

I've been playing as a Imperial Agent and my companion learned her first crew skill which is armstech. Now that she's learned that how do I have her make me stuff? Simple things to make like barrels and such require me to purchase items or something to build them. This is my first time playing SWTOR and an MMO for that matter. Can someone direct me to a link or just give me a general tutorial on how to do crew skills. The one in game isn't super helpful. Again... I'm a super noob... sorry :(

The main gathering crewskill to support armstech you need is scavenging.

Take scavenging for second crew skill which allows gathering crafting materials mainly from junk piles found all over the world as well as some defeated droid enemies. Gathering skills allow also getting materials from just sending companions on missions, but this should be avoided due to costs, and better to just gather crafting materials from nodes found all over nearly all areas where you quest.

For third crew skill one may take investigation for more advanced materials used by armstech. Investigation is pure mission skill that let's you only get materials by sending companions to missions.

You will need to gather crafting materials. You do this with the Scavenging skill. Scavenging nodes will appear on your minimap as stars *. To gather from a node, right click on the node.

Once you have the materials, hit N to open the crew window. you'll see a picture of Kaliyo and beside her, icons representing your crew skills. Click on the Armstech icon and the crafting window will pop up. Select what you want her to make and click "Craft." You can queue up to 5(?) items.