To GS or not to GS, that is the question (Alt. Title: What's in YOUR hangar?)

bmharrison

Ok, I admit it, I hate gunships. I hate flying against them, I hate getting completely disabled (or outright killed) by one shot, and I really hate how the number of gunships in play increases the advantage for a team exponentially like no other class of ship (or ground class, for that matter) in the game.

As much as I hate flying against them, I also hate flying them myself. I don't enjoy the play style of sit, fire, run, turn around, sit, fire, run, etc. To me, that's not what GSF is supposed to be about. My opinion, not stating a fact or trying to argue with anyone about play styles.

Additionally, I don't fare well when I do fly gunships. I may get in a kill or two before I'm noticed (though often I miss b/c I'm not good at the railgun targeting system and just end up drawing attention to myself), but once someone is after me I spend the rest of my time running away until I get blown up or get so far away that no one is interested in pursuing anymore, and then have to spend a great deal of time trying to get back into position and try the whole fiasco again.

All that being said, I kept my gs in my hangar and consistently upgraded it so that if it was needed on the field I could use it. I still firmly believe (my opinion again) that any number of gunships over 2 (especially when working with a couple of bombers) creates a huge imbalance in most matches unless countered by an equal or greater number of gunships. Of course, pilot skill is a factor, but less-so than with scouts/sfs (bombers are another topic). And, speaking from painful experience, most of the GS pilots on my server (Shadowlands) are quite skilled at what they do.

So, whenever I came across a team (mostly on imp side) that either weren't choosing their gunships or didn't have them available, I felt obligated to jump in mine to try and balance things out against the often 4+ gunships we were facing.