GPU and Monitor upgrade issues

CmdrShpd

Hi All,

I recently updated my GPU from a Geforce GT 640 to a Radeon R9 280. Because of this, I decided to upgrade my very, very old monitor to a new one that can display 1080p graphics. Here are my current system specs

AMD FX-6300 3.5 Ghz

MSI Radeon R9 280 3GB DDR5

16 GB DDR3 RAM

Samsung S23C350 23 inch Monitor

My problem is that now that I am playing with a 1920x1080 resolution, the FPS that I'm getting is lower than I'd like. I've turned down essentially all graphics settings (except resolution and grass/tree quality) down to essentially the bare minimum, but I'm still seeing 10-15 FPS in 16 man Ops. It's not unplayable, but it's not ideal either. What's most surprising to me, though, is that the FPS meter is showing that I'm GPU bottle-necked. I would have assumed (perhaps naively), that my CPU would have been bottle-necked before my new GPU. Then again, I'm no expert.

In addition, I've looked at what optimal settings the AMD Gaming Evolved application thinks I should use with my current setup, but they're telling me to turn pretty much all the graphics settings up way higher than they currently are.

Anyway, I guess I'm just looking for suggestions on how I can improve SWTOR's performance with this setup. Do I just need to turn down the resolution on my monitor, and play at less than 1080p? Or are there other options? Thanks!

Edit: I should add that I literally just upgraded the monitor this week, so I don't know if any of my performance issues could also be related, in part, to any of the ongoing issues associated with the 3.0 changes.

Edited by CmdrShpd