General questions on healing.

Hello everyone. I have been playing a few years now and almost completely focused on pvp. I decided to try out pve and see if I enjoy it as much as pvp. I have a few lvl 60 toons but figured I didn't want to start flashpoints at endgame so I made me a sorcerer, healing discipline. I have done a few flash points so far and tell everyone I am very new to pve and always ask for advice. I have a few questions for the more experienced players though.

1: i have been given lots of differing advice on when to heal. Some peoples say as soon as a group member takes any damage start healing. While others are saying dps until group members are about 80% then heal. Any advice with this?

2: Is there a priority on who to heal? I mean if everyone is taking damage at once does tank get healed first then the dps?

3: In one flashpoint one of the dps would run into another room an start a fight before the first room is cleared and then get mad I didn't keep his health up. In situations like this should I stay with the main group and clear the enemies, run to the next room to heal the other guy, or run back and forth healing both?

4: Last one for now. Can anyone point me to a general pve healing guide? Not so much class specific with gear and rotations but more general beginer tips you have learned while playing.

Thanks for any help.

Healing depends on the situation a lot unfortunately but ill try and answer as best I can from my experience as a healer: Also for examples ill use my sages skills as that is my main healer char and the same class as yours just opposite faction

1: i have been given lots of differing advice on when to heal. Some peoples say as soon as a group member takes any damage start healing. While others are saying dps until group members are about 80% then heal. Any advice with this?

2: Is there a priority on who to heal? I mean if everyone is taking damage at once does tank get healed first then the dps?