Mac OS X Misconceptions: A Developer's Attempt to Educate...

SyntheticFrost

Now I want to start this off by being clear here. This is NOT a troll thread. I am an active developer for BOTH Windows 7 and Mac OS X. I have a lot of years under my belt for both systems. I'm not here to outright bash Windows.

The simple truth is that most every cliche constantly repeated on the internet today about Mac OS X is either outdated, or was never true in the first place. Let's look at the one most people on this forum would think:

"OS X is behind Windows in gaming."

While this one still holds some validity, it's not so clear cut anymore. The current version of Mac OS X comes with the OpenGL 3.2 rendering engine. This is what every OS (including Linux) besides Windows uses to render their 3D games. And OS X's OpenGL 3.2 is the equivalent of Direct X 10.1.

To further this argument, Mac OS X will have OpenGL 4.2, the Direct X 11 equivalent BEFORE the next OS ships. And since Macs run the exact same Intel, AMD, and nVidia chips now, OS X isn't so far behind anymore.

While not directly connected, I feel I should point out that the iOS used on the iPad and iPhone is a stripped, cut-down version of OS X, and it's gaming scene is in full gear.

"Windows is better at 64-bit stuff than OS X."

I don't even know where this one came from. This one was never true.

I'll start by describing what exactly going 64-bit means. Going 64-bit DOESN'T means applications are faster. In fact the vast majority of 64-bit apps are SLOWER than their 32-bit cousins. The transition from 32-bit just added more lanes to the proverbial highway. The speed limit didn't change. There's just more lanes for all the traffic at the cost of requiring more memory to handle it.

But that also means developers now have to work harder at threading their apps.