Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer

HM Monolith tanking issues

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > Classes > Roles
HM Monolith tanking issues

Kuroyo
05.19.2015 , 12:05 PM | #1
To start off, I'm relatively new to tank min/maxing in SWTOR. I follow the dulfy guides which have been suggesting the use of B-mods.

Our strat is to ignore simon says and have a tank take all of the damage from his initial breath. We take one tank, three healers, one dps with taunt to eat a stack of the bite wound, and the rest DPS. The healers have to spam heal tank through breath when he's enraged. Is this tankable with Jugg/Sin and this strat? Has anyone done it? What was gear / cooldown rotation used?

On my PT tank I'm fine -- cooldowns can cover everything.
On my Jugg tank it's squish city. I have to use more CDs to survive and once I'm out of them I'm dead.
Not even tried on my Sin.

All are in 6 set 192. The only major difference is the PT has 198 B-mods whereas the Jugg is still mostly in 192's.

Jugg:
D: 1730
S: 1089
A: 578

PT:
D: 731
S: 1840
A: 961

KeyboardNinja
05.19.2015 , 12:14 PM | #2
Powertechs are by far the best tanks for the cheese strat. Their cooldowns are basically 100% applicable (aside from Oil Slick) and they line up very nicely. Juggernauts are the worst, since they lack the I/E DR and the endurance bonuses of Assassins, while lacking the cooldown timers of Powertechs. Assassins are in the middle.

Honestly, whether or not you survive the cheese strat is more on your healers. The whole fight is on the healers, in fact, regardless of what strategy you use. Make sure the boss isn't rift buffed while enraged, push cooldowns on a schedule and that's basically all you can do.

B mod gearing is indeed optimal.
Computer Programmer. Theory Crafter. Dilettante on The Ebon Hawk.
Tam (shadow tank) Tov-ren (commando healer) Aveo (retired sentinel) Nimri (ruffian scoundrel)