Most Forgiving Tank Class ... and the trade offs

Zoszia

I'm making some moves to build a tank but It's not clear to me what class I would prefer. Since I'm new at it, I figured my best bet would be to take the most forgiving class. I'm probably doing mostly FP's for now. I'm also thinking there are tradeoffs to make a choice that way, but what do I know ...

hoping you guys can tell me.

In terms of rotation and keeping up the buffs, PT is the easiest one to play. It doesn't have many DCDs which makes it both easier and harder at the same time, as you need to have a good understanding of when to use what (which is true for all tanks, but PT has a small amount of actual DCD buttons, so need to use them carefully). That said, PT's DCDs are mostly just plain DR/defense chance increases, so it won't take long to get used to them. There are some tricks for extra DPS on a PT tank, as well. You can deal extra damage by taking damage but how much you can utilize that will be up to you and healers. PT is the only tank that doesn't have a DCD that makes him completely immune to damage. He makes up for it with very solid passive defenses, and good shielding stats/procs but in some cases you just need to pray to the Shield gods to survive the incoming hits while other 2 tanks can mitigate the incoming damage completely.