A silly question about the Clarion

Ligurio

Hello there

So...I'm actually making a new character (xp x12, etc), decided to try the rep side and chose to try the Clarion.

And I had a silly idea : should I try Deflection armor + Charged plating ? I'm still a newb but 94% damage reduction looks nice. And repair probes would help with shield bleeding.

Well, seeing that this is a build mentioned in the Stasiepedia, I'd say give it a try. And I've already seen people flying with CP on the Clarion. But remember that there are a lot of armor ignoring weapons out there (burst lasers, pods, slugs, heavies, concussion missiles).

It's good for plowing through mines. Just about everything else which will get shot at you (mainly slug rail/BLC/pods/HLC) will laugh maniacally at your damage reduction, or ion will just drain your energy and snare you so the rest of them can kill you.

Builds are funny little things. Every build and component is viable in very niche ways, but meta is meta for a reason.

Most meta builds will utterly ignore your armor. Just straight up ROFL ROFL LOL at it. Some will even 1-2 hit strip you of your sheild THEN mock your armor by saying "hurr durr iz dmg reduct." That being said, however, charged plating and damage reduction would be excellent for under node support and healing with repair probes. You in a clarion with 1 bomber (drone or mine dont matter) would be able to clear out even the most entrenched mine-bomber formations under node, with you soaking up all the mine blasts NP.

I say give it a go. The worst that can happen is you die horribly, which happens to all of us all the time anyways. Any excuse is a good excuse to play with a different build and have fun with the game :p

:ph_cheers:

It's not a terrible build as long as you realize your limitations (already mentioned by others).