Should I stop now?

Girofalcon

Hi, I'm having a crisis of faith with my class choice.

With SW:TOR being my first MMO, I decided that I'd go with what seemed to be the most straightforward class: Jedi Knight. I can honestly say I have no experience with using dozens of skills in tandem with each other, so melee dps seemed both the most exciting and simple to me. However, after having a relatively hard time in PvP compared to some of my friends, I decided to check up here on the forum and see what I was doing wrong. Turns out I was right, in that sentinels are arguably the hardest class to play because of the fact that perfection of mechanics is equivalent to mere spamming of tracer missiles from a ranged (level ten's getting 1-3 in damage how?).

Yes, I could master the sentinel with time, but as I said, I'd rather be competent with an easy class before I step it up into the harder one. Also, I relish the story, and so far the Jedi's is kind of bland... Love the morality and honor, not so much the "must save everyone in the galaxy who are obviously just plain retarded" kind of thing. :p That may be an exaggeration, but you know what I'm getting at.

I'm looking at rerolling for a Sage, but I see them a lot and read that they have a reputation for being the cheapest class out there. Is there a class that finds balance between difficulty and skill, but still has the Jedi-esque feeling to it? I figure I'd ask before I might commit wrongly (again).

Thanks for the advice!

:csw_destroyer:

The answer here is simple enough; go for the one path you have not yet touched. Make a Jedi Knight, but go for the guardian tree. The guardian tree will still allow you the fun aspects of your sentinel, but should provide a DPS experience that wears a little heavier armor, so you aren't cannon fodder.