Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer
×

Launch downtime reminder - new servers incoming

STAR WARS: The Old Republic > English > General Discussion
Launch downtime reminder - new servers incoming

StephenReid's Avatar


StephenReid
12.19.2011 , 04:37 PM | #1
Tonight at 12:01AM EST we are officially launching Star Wars: The Old Republic.

This is a huge moment for everyone - both the fans and those who created the game. Thanks for being part of the experience so far, and we look forward to running the best game service we can for years to come.

Tonight, we are bringing the servers down for maintenance as we prepare for launch, as previously mentioned. Both the game servers and SWTOR.com will be offline from 6PM CST (4PM PST/7PM EST/12AM GMT/1AM CET) to 11PM CST (9PM PST/12AM EST/5AM GMT/6AM CET).

As well as bringing the existing game servers back online, from 11PM CST onwards we'll be bringing up a large number of new servers, spread across all three of our server locations (US West Coast, US East Coast and Europe). As always, every server is available to anyone to play on - just select your preferred location (US / Europe) from the tab at the bottom of the server select screen.

Even with these additional servers we are expecting queues on the most popular servers, and these queues are likely to persist for a while yet. We are monitoring them closely and raising population caps where necessary, however this is a careful process that is ongoing. Our servers do not have unlimited populations and we want every server to have a healthy population during and after launch.

If you are joining the game for the first time during this launch period, or if you are looking for a lower population server to play on, now is the best time to create a character on a new server. We would strongly advise anyone joining the game to not attempt to create a new character on a server that is listed as 'Full', unless you are comfortable with the potential for queues to enter the server.

Finally, don't forget that after tonight's downtime, you are entering a 'grace period' in which you will need to enter your final product registration code (AKA 'game code') from your copy of the game (or your email from Origin), along with your preferred payment method, to activate your 30 days of game time. You can redeem your product registration code here.

As another reminder, we'll be taking down the game servers and SWTOR.com at the end of that 'grace period' at 2AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET), the early hours of December 22nd. When the servers come back up at that time, you will need a product registration code redeemed on your account to continue playing. To ensure you can continue to play, make sure you redeem your code as soon as possible.

We're getting ready for launch - we hope you are too. We look forward to seeing you online!

Matteis's Avatar


Matteis
12.19.2011 , 04:44 PM | #2
Good to hear.
Annihilation Droid XRR-3: "I have been armed with twenty-four distinct weapons technologies."
Squadron 157, server HK-47, August 5th, 2011.

Cmdluke's Avatar


Cmdluke
12.19.2011 , 04:44 PM | #3
quick question, I'm on the west coast, will I be able to play after 8PM PST or will I be locked out until official launch at 12:01AM PST?
"The Force is a Balance between the Light and the Dark" - Qun'aris Sunnrider
Jedi Consular Balance Sage

junkfunk's Avatar


junkfunk
12.19.2011 , 04:45 PM | #4
Yay!!

Thanks to the BioWare team for their hard work and long hours! And I can't stress this enough...

Quote: Originally Posted by StephenReid View Post
If you are joining the game for the first time during this launch period, or if you are looking for a lower population server to play on, now is the best time to create a character on a new server. We would strongly advise anyone joining the game to not attempt to create a new character on a server that is listed as 'Full', unless you are comfortable with the potential for queues to enter the server.
PLEASE.

FOLLOW.

SUGGESTION.

<3
Nasty - 50 Gunslinger | Ryane - 42 Guardian
Legends - Warriors of the Shadow (PvP West Coast)
Quote: Originally Posted by McVade View Post
Every time I get force charged/rooted/knocked off the bridge in Voidstar, I want to tear off my shirt, grab my supple manboobs and shriek.

Mewphiston's Avatar


Mewphiston
12.19.2011 , 04:51 PM | #5
Quote: Originally Posted by junkfunk View Post
Yay!!

Thanks to the BioWare team for their hard work and long hours! And I can't stress this enough...



PLEASE.

FOLLOW.

SUGGESTION.

<3
Year, please do this and it will spare you about 2h of que time.

SWTOR is the best :-D

Delria's Avatar


Delria
12.19.2011 , 04:51 PM | #6
Will there be a day one patch? Possibly one that let's us turn on AA and change the view distance to something other than max without having to futs around with an .ini file?

TheButtonlessOne's Avatar


TheButtonlessOne
12.19.2011 , 04:52 PM | #7
The downtime makes sense. Doesn't mean I have to be happy about it.

Arodin's Avatar


Arodin
12.19.2011 , 04:52 PM | #8
Quote: Originally Posted by Cmdluke View Post
quick question, I'm on the west coast, will I be able to play after 8PM PST or will I be locked out until official launch at 12:01AM PST?
You will be able to play at 9PM PST.

LordDaxis's Avatar


LordDaxis
12.19.2011 , 04:54 PM | #9
I think most people that are going to buy the game are already playing.

Hekynn's Avatar


Hekynn
12.19.2011 , 04:55 PM | #10
It makes sense for the downtime. And Good thing too that I got my code last Friday from Origin and I put it in and select my payment methods and I'm gtg for tomorrow. Cant wait!! And keep up the great work of adding more servers during the downtimes etc.