Please upgrade your browser for the best possible experience.

Chrome Firefox Internet Explorer
×

Developer Tracker

Star Wars: The Old Republic > English > Developer Tracker


WillWallace
Legacy system family tree---what is the benefit? | 03.27.2012, 02:17 PM
All characters in your legacy get all of your global legacy unlocks, regardless of the arrangement of characters in your family tree.

The family tree is just a fun visualization of the relationships between your characters - we don't want you to ever have to "respec" your family to get the unlocks you want, or for guilds to require you to have a certain family arrangement in order to pick up the right rewards.


AmberGreen
[Server Status] Some Servers Unavailable: Dalborra, Gav Daragon, and Master Dar'Nala | 03.27.2012, 01:04 PM
All servers are now available. Thank you for your patience!


AmberGreen
[Server Status] Some Servers Unavailable: Dalborra, Gav Daragon, and Master Dar'Nala | 03.27.2012, 11:45 AM
**UPDATE 2PM CDT (12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM GMT/ 9PM CEST/ 6AM AEDT): All game servers are now available. Thank you for your patience!**

We are currently performing a brief server restart. The servers affected are Dalborra,Gav Daragon, and Master Dar'Nala. We expect these servers to be available again at 2PM CDT (12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM GMT/ 9PM CEST/ 6AM AEDT).

To check the status of your server, please visit the Server Status page.

Thank you for your patience!


EricMusco
[Server Status] Server Unavailable: <Anchorhead> | 03.24.2012, 09:52 AM
We are currently investigating issues that have caused the Anchorhead server to become unavailable. We will let you know as soon as we have more information and thank you for your patience.

Update 11:30 AM - We have discovered the issue and are working on a fix, ETA of approximately one hour."

Update 11:55 AM - The server is once again available! Thank you for your patience.


WillWallace
Chapter 2 or 3 for class buff? | 03.23.2012, 09:43 PM
Quote: Originally Posted by GeorgZoeller View Post
Honestly the Darth Hater interview was at the end of two long days, with me not even having a voice any more. It's possible that I said something wrong here. I'll ask William Wallace, the Designer responsible for Legacy, to clarify.
Clarification begins...now.

The class buff unlocks occur when a character finishes Chapter 2. At that point, that character's class buff is unlocked for all characters of his legacy.

Each class' buff applies all of your unlocked class buffs with a single click. It's not 4 buttons you have to keep on your quickbar. One click, all the buffs.

An example: I have an Imperial Agent that finishes Chapter 2. The Agent unlocks his class buff for my legacy. I now go log onto my level 1 Sith Inquisitor. When my Sith Inquisitor casts Mark of Power, it ALSO applies the effects of Coordination, since I have unlocked the Agent's buff.

Furthermore, to get the full set of buffs, you only need to unlock 4 classes. Unlocking the buff for Agent and Smuggler still only nets you a single buff effect, so you can't stack their +Crit bonuses together. (Because that might be a wee bit overpowered. Maybe.)

Clarification ends... now.


JesseSky
16-Man Toth/Zorn vs. 8-Man Toth/Zorn | 03.23.2012, 06:34 PM
Guys, thanks for the excellent write-up. We're incorporating your feedback into our iteration on the fight.


CourtneyWoods
Community Q&A: March 23rd 2012 | 03.23.2012, 05:05 PM
Discuss this week's Community Q&A blog in this thread!


CourtneyWoods
No Downtime with Maintenance March 27th | 03.23.2012, 04:28 PM
We will not be requiring any downtime for maintenance on Tuesday, March 27th.

Both the website and the game servers will be available for play during our usual maintenance window.

Enjoy the game!


DavidBass
Guild Summit General Discussion | 03.23.2012, 10:31 AM
We're still working on them! They're taking a bit to process and we ran into a couple technical issues with the recordings, but we're making progress and will post them to YouTube as soon as they're done.


AmberGreen
Upcoming Patch Tomorrow, March 23rd, 2012 | 03.22.2012, 12:33 PM
Hi everyone,

We will be bringing down servers for four hours on March 23rd, 2012 from 2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/7AM GMT/8AM CET/6PM AEDT) until 6AM CDT (4AM PDT/7AM EDT/11AM GMT/12PM CET/10PM AEDT) to deploy a patch. All game servers will be offline during this period, and the deployment is expected to take no more than four hours.


Upcoming Patch

Date: Friday, March 23rd, 2012

Time: 2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/7AM GMT/8AM CET/6PM AEDT) to 6AM CDT (4AM PDT/7AM EDT/11AM GMT/12PM CET/10PM AEDT)

All game servers will be offline during this period. This deployment is expected to take no more than four hours.

Thank you for your patience as we maintain service for Star Wars™: The Old Republic™.


CourtneyWoods
Developer Dispatch: The Legacy System | 03.22.2012, 08:51 AM
The Legacy system in Star Wars™: The Old Republic™ will allow you to create your very own family tree, connecting each of your characters together and unlocking a host of skills and abilities that would otherwise be unobtainable. Watch this Developer Dispatch to learn about what Legacy is and how it will continue to evolve with the game.

Watch Now


JesseSky
How long until FP bosses are fixed? | 03.20.2012, 06:09 PM
Thanks for reporting these issues - we will look into them ASAP.


CourtneyWoods
Crew Skills in Game Update 1.2 | 03.20.2012, 10:43 AM
Georg Zoeller gives an update on crafting and Crew Skills:

Quote:
Since the launch of Star Wars™: The Old Republic™, the Crew Skill system has been incredibly popular. Every week in-game, 52 million items are produced or harvested, 4.5 million item mods are installed and more than 35 million items change hands. Players actively participating in the Crew Skill system are generally better geared and have more credits in the bank than pure consumers.
Read More


CourtneyWoods
Take Part in our upcoming Weekend Pass | 03.20.2012, 10:06 AM
Over the last weekend, people had the opportunity to take part in the Star Wars™: The Old Republic™ Weekend Pass Free* Trial. The response was overwhelmingly successful, and we are incredibly grateful to everyone who took part. However, we also understand that not everyone has had the opportunity to play the game. To that end, we are excited to announce that individuals who did not take part in the first Weekend Pass Free Trial will have another opportunity to live out their very own Star Wars™ saga, for free, with the second Star Wars: The Old Republic Weekend Pass Free Trial! Participants in the previous Weekend Pass Free Trial and any other free trials are not eligible for this upcoming Weekend Pass Free Trial period.

Read More


CourtneyWoods
Game Update 1.2: Legacy is on the Public Test Sever! | 03.16.2012, 10:25 PM
Game Update 1.2 for Star Wars™: The Old Republic™ will be released for public download soon! Entitled Legacy, this latest update to the game will allow players to experience brand new in-game content, including a new Flashpoint, a new PvP Warzone and a new Operation. All of this new content is now live on the Public Test Server so if you’re currently a player, we encourage you to check it out and give us your feedback! Be sure to visit the Star Wars: The Old Republic Test Center to learn more, and you can also take a look at many of the new features coming in Game Update 1.2 in our New Features video.

Read More


CourtneyWoods
Your Saga Continues: Story in Game Update 1.2 | 03.16.2012, 10:21 PM
Star Wars™ has always been a continuing saga from the moment that the phrase ‘Episode IV’ scrolled upwards onto movie screens. With those words an ongoing, epic story was born, and Star Wars™: The Old Republic™ continues the tradition.

Quote:
I’m Charles Boyd, a writer here at BioWare Austin for Star Wars: The Old Republic and I wanted to share a sneak peek at the story behind Game Update 1.2. The development team has designed each of our game updates to shed a bit more light on the state of the galaxy and the ongoing war between the Galactic Republic and the Sith Empire, with new story details and hints about the future spread across every piece of content. Game Update 1.2 will be our biggest update yet, but your adventure in a galaxy far, far away is just getting started!
Read More


CourtneyWoods
Scheduled Maintenance: March 20th, 2012 | 03.16.2012, 04:20 PM
Hello everyone, we wanted to let you know that we will be performing scheduled maintenance for five hours on Tuesday, March 20th, 2012 from 2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/7AM GMT/8AM CET/7PM AEDT) until 7AM CDT (5AM PDT/8AM EDT/12PM GMT/1PM CET/12AM AEDT). All game servers will be offline during this period. This maintenance is expected to take no more than five hours, but could be extended.

For our new players, this weekly maintenance is done in order to make general improvements and to check performance of the game so that we can continue to provide a consistent, quality experience. Quite often (but not always) after a maintenance period there will be a patch to download. After the maintenance, please login via the launcher to download the latest patch. If your launcher was open during the maintenance, you must close and reopen it for a fresh login.

Scheduled Maintenance

Date: Tuesday, March 20th, 2012

Time: 2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/7AM GMT/8AM CET/7PM AEDT) until 7AM CDT (5AM PDT/8AM EDT/12PM GMT/1PM CET/12AM AEDT)

All game servers will be offline during this period. This maintenance is expected to take no more than five hours.

Thank you for your patience as we maintain service for Star Wars™: The Old Republic™.


AmberGreen
[Server Status] European Servers Briefly Unavailable | 03.15.2012, 09:03 PM
All servers are now available. Thank you for your patience!


AmberGreen
[Server Status] European Servers Briefly Unavailable | 03.15.2012, 08:16 PM
**UPDATE 10:05PM CST (8:05PM PST/ 4:05PM EST/ 3:05AM GMT/ 4:05AM CET/ 3:05PM AEST). All servers are now availabile! Thank you for your patience.**

We are performing a brief server restart on all European servers. We expect the servers to be available again at 10:30PM CST (8:30PM PST/ 4:30PM EST/ 3:30AM GMT/ 4:30AM CET/ 3:30PM AEST). Please watch this thread for updates and information. To check the status of your server, please check the Server Status page.


AmberGreen
[Server Status] Available UPDATE 2:50PM CST | 03.15.2012, 01:50 PM
All game servers are now up and running.

We truly appreciate your patience during this unavoidable downtime, which was necessary to ensure a good experience for all players on the game servers during the Weekend Trial.
Star Wars: The Old Republic > English > Developer Tracker